faviconLet Our Veteran DUI Defense Professionals Help You Regain Control

MIP In Colorado First Offense

In Colorado, a MIP ( Minor in Possession) under Colorado law is punishable by a fine up to $250 for a first conviction, $500 for a second conviction, and a jail-able Class 2 Misdemeanor for third and subsequent convictions.

The judge will decide whether or not he/she will accept a plea agreement offered by the prosecutor


If the judge accepts the plea agreement, sentence will be passed. However, if the judge does not accept the plea agreement, the defendant will proceed to trial. At trial, the judge will determine whether or not the defendant should be held responsible for the offense.

You have the right to remain silent.

It is very important to understand that you do not have to say anything when you are being questioned by police officers. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law. You also have the right to an attorney during questioning. An attorney can help you decide what to say and how to respond to questions.

You do need an attorney.

If you are arrested for a minor offense such as a MIP in Colorado, you should contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately. An attorney can help protect your rights and ensure that you receive fair treatment while you are facing these charges.

You may hire one at any time during the process.

It is possible to hire a lawyer after being charged with a crime. Hiring a lawyer early in the case will allow them to prepare a strong defense and negotiate a favorable outcome.

You may have to appear in person.

If you do choose to hire an attorney, you should make sure that he or she is experienced in handling cases involving alcohol and drug offenses. An attorney who specializes in these areas will be able to help you understand what happens at each stage of the process and how to avoid making mistakes that could lead to more serious consequences.

What Happens After An Arrest?