faviconLet Our Veteran DUI Defence Professionals Help You Regain Control

What Are The Penalties For DWI In Colorado?

If you have been charged with driving while impaired (DWI) in Colorado, it is important to understand the consequences of a potential conviction. In this article, we'll go over the potential penalties and other implications of a DWI in Colorado.

Administrative Penalties for DWI.

In addition to criminal penalties for DWI, Colorado also has administrative penalties for drivers who are found guilty of driving under the influence. The most common administrative penalty is the suspension or revocation of your driver's license. Depending on your specific circumstances, such as blood alcohol concentration level and prior offenses, your license may be suspended for up to two years. You may also face restrictions on how often you can drive and the hours when you can drive if your license is reinstated after a conviction.

Criminal Punishments for DWI Convictions in Colorado.

In Colorado, DWI convictions carry significant criminal punishments, including jail time and fines. The maximum jail sentence for a first offense is one year in county jail, while subsequent offenses can result in felony charges and longer prison sentences. Fines associated with DWI are dependent on the number of prior convictions and range from $600 to $5000. Additionally, you may be subject to an alcohol education program or treatment program at your own expense.

Ignition Interlock Installation Requirements.

One of the more severe punishments for DWI is an ignition interlock installation, which prevents vehicles from being started without a breath test for alcohol. This punishment can last anywhere from nine months to two years, depending on the number of prior convictions and jurisdiction. In addition to installation costs, you will also be responsible for any related fees such as monthly monitoring and recalibration.

Secondary Consequences of a DWI Conviction in Colorado.

A driver convicted of DWI in Colorado will also potentially face secondary consequences like higher insurance premiums, lost job opportunities, and other restrictions. In addition, a DWI conviction on your criminal record can make it difficult to travel freely as certain states may deny entry based on this offense.

Driver's License Reinstatement After a DWI Conviction In Colorado

In most cases, a driver's license is automatically suspended in the state of Colorado after a DWI conviction. The length of the suspension period will vary depending on the severity of the offense and any prior convictions. After the suspension period is complete, the driver may have to petition for an administrative hearing to have their license reinstated. To do so, they must provide proof that they are able to drive safely and that their motor vehicle has been properly insured.

Penalty Chart