Getting a driver's license can feel like a daunting task in the United States, but Colorado is among the easiest states to get your license. With this guide, you can learn the steps to take and make sure you have all the paperwork required to easily obtain your driver's license in Colorado.
Before you can apply for a driver's license in Colorado, you must gather the required documentation. You will need proof of identity, such as your passport or birth certificate, and proof of residence, like utility bills or a school enrollment form. In addition, if you are under 18 years old you will also have to provide parental consent forms. Once all the paperwork is assembled it is time to head over to the DMV and apply.
Once you have the appropriate documents, you can move forward with your driver's license application. First, you must apply for a learner's permit. This requires filling out an application form and passing a vision test. Additionally, if you are under 18 years old you will need to pass a written knowledge test. After seeing the proper documentation and passing the tests, the DMV will issue your learner's permit.
After passing the vision and written knowledge test, the next step is taking Colorado's written test. The driver's license tests measure how well you understand driving rules and signs on public roads. You must memorize state traffic laws and examples of safe driving practices in order to pass the test. Furthermore, you must pass the test before your learner's permit will be upgraded to a regular driver's license.
In Colorado, all first-time drivers are required to take a driver awareness program or examination. These courses will teach you about state traffic laws, the effects of drugs and alcohol on driving abilities, common driving mistakes and how to become a safer driver. Once you complete the course or exam and submit your application, your learner's permit will be upgraded to a regular driver's license.
When you first apply for a driver's license, you will have to start with a learner's permit. In Colorado, this process applies to all first-time drivers over the age of 16. It is important that you hold your learner's permit for at least one year before attempting to take the driving test. This will give you enough time to gain experience and build up your confidence behind the wheel.
Colorado DMV Services