Colorado's Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) law is an important legal guideline that can help keep you and other drivers safe when on the road. If you're found to be over the BAC limit in Colorado, you could face hefty fines and penalties, including license suspension or even jail time. Read on to learn more about the legal BAC limit in Colorado and its consequences if violated.
In Colorado, it is illegal to drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. This applies to both drivers under 21 years old as well as those who are 21 years or older. If you are found driving with a BAC of .08 or higher in Colorado, you will be subject to criminal penalties and other repercussions.
If you are found to be driving with a BAC of.08 or higher, you will face criminal penalties in the form of fines, jail time, and driver's license suspension. Even if it is your first offense, you could face up to $1,000 in fines and up to nine months of possible jail time. Furthermore, your license can be suspended for nine months as well. To learn more about the consequences associated with exceeding the BAC limit in Colorado, contact an experienced DUI attorney.
The best way to avoid a failing a breathalyzer test in Colorado is to not drink and drive. If you plan on drinking, designate a sober driver and take other measures to ensure that your BAC remains below the legal limit while operating a motor vehicle. If you plan on driving the next day, it is also important to understand how long alcohol can stay in your system— generally, one drink per hour can be safely metabolized by the body. To be safe, you should wait longer than this before getting behind the wheel of a car.
First and foremost, it is important to build an awareness of how much you are drinking and potential impacts on your BAC. To remain within the Colorado law, consider these simple tips: always plan for a designated driver when drinking alcohol; keep track of the amount of drinks you've had at a bar or restaurant; opt for non-alcoholic drinks and snacks in between alcoholic beverages; and never attempt to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC that exceeds the legal limit.
If you are concerned about your BAC or have been accused of a DUI-related offense in Colorado, resources that can help include legal professionals, support groups and trained counselors. Contacting a lawyer is the first step to understanding your specific rights under Colorado's BAC laws. Additionally, MADD offers supportive services and counseling to victims of impaired driving offenses.
What Happens After An Arrest?