faviconLet Our Veteran DUI Defense Professionals Help You Regain Control

Penalties For Driving Under A DUI Restraint In Colorado

Driving under restraint means that you were arrested for driving after you lost your license because of a DUI (DUR). The penalty for this offense varies.

You may have to post a $10,000.00 bond to get out of jail.

If you were arrested for DUR, you will likely face additional penalties. These include fines, fees, and court costs. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, you may also need to pay for an ignition interlock device. This device prevents you from starting your car until you blow into it three times.

You will have to do a minimum of 10 days of detention.

If you are convicted of this type DUR, you will have to spend at least 10 days in detention.

You may be able to get in home detention.

If you were arrested for driving under a DUI restriction, you may be eligible for home detention. Home detention allows you to stay in your own home while serving your sentence. It's also an alternative to incarceration because it gives you the opportunity to continue living your life outside of prison walls. You also may be able to continue working.

The prosecution or the judge may want you to do jail time.

Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, the prosecutor may decide to pursue a conviction for driving under a DUI revocation. This means that you will likely face some sort of punishment, such as fines, community service, probation, or even jail time. However, there are exceptions to these rules. For instance, if you were at fault for an accident, then you may have to do additional time.

You need a lawyer for DUI driving under revocation charge.

If you've been pulled over for suspicion of DUR, you should immediately contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who specializes in DUR cases. An attorney can help you understand the charges against you, explain your rights, and advise you on how to proceed.

Colorado DMV Services