The penalties for a DUI second conviction in Colorado include jail time, fines, license suspension, and other restrictions.
If you have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) once before in your lifetime, you will face harsher penalties for a DUI second offense. A second DUI conviction carries more severe penalties than a first offense. In addition to the penalties listed above, a second DUI conviction also results in mandatory alcohol treatment programs and higher insurance rates. A second DUI conviction in the State of Colorado is considered a misdemeanor unless there is any bodily injury or death due to an accident while a driver is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
The penalties for a second DUI may include up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,500, suspension of driver's license for one year, community service up to 120 hours, probation up to four years, and the requirement to attend education (either alcohol or drug) classes.
It is important to note that jail time is mandatory for a second DUI conviction, although in some instances
in home detention is possible. Additionally, a driving under the influence charge includes both intoxication from alcohol as well as driving under the influence of marijuana or prescription or over the counter drugs. A jury may consider a driver is under the influence of marijuana if a blood test reveals five nanograms or more of THC.