A first DUI offense in Colorado can have serious implications for your life, including fines, license restrictions, and even a loss of driving privileges. It is important to understand the potential consequences of a DUI charge in order to make an informed decision about how to proceed. In this guide, we will provide an overview of the penalties associated with a first DUI offense in Colorado and some tips for putting your life back on track.
In Colorado, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. A driver can still be liable for DWAI if their BAC is below .08, but the prosecution must prove that the presence of alcohol has impaired the driver's ability to safely operate the motor vehicle to the slightest. For first-time offenders, a DUI charge carries some potential penalties that range from license suspension and fines to jail time, depending on the circumstances of the case.
If convicted of a first time DUI in Colorado, drivers can expect to have their driving privileges suspended for nine months. A fee must be paid if you wish to have the privilege reinstated; this is usually around $95. You may also be fined up to $1000, mandated to perform community service (usually 48-96 hours), and/or ordered to attend an alcohol education and therapy program of up to 110 hours. In some cases, drivers may even receive jail time or have to complete an inpatient treatment program.
After receiving a DUI in Colorado, the best thing you can do is remain positive and focus on how to moving forward. If you are found guilty, you should contact your lawyer if that's an option for you. You may want to think about attending community service events, or taking a class or workshop on the effects of alcohol and drug use. Remember to also drive safely and carefully following your DUI citation—your next infraction could be much more serious.
After receiving a DUI, your case will likely go to criminal court. Depending on your past record and the severity of the DUI you can expect to serve jail time, pay hefty fines, and attend an alcohol education class if necessary. The judge may also require you to take part in community service or probation for up to one year after your offense. It's important to understand the legal process and know what penalties you'll be facing—make sure you retain an attorney with experience in Colorado criminal law so they can help prepare you for court proceedings.
A first time DUI in Colorado means you will have your license revoked for a period of nine months, or two years if your BAC was over .20% or you refused testing.. However, after 30 days, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) may be installed on your vehicle so that you can legally drive if you took the test or two months if you did not. You must also pay for the installation and monthly monitoring fees associated with the device out of pocket. The IID requires that you blow into it successfully before starting the car which will allow law enforcement to deter further cases of drunk driving.
What Happens After An Arrest?