Ellicott City DUI Lawyers
Return to Maryland DUI Lawyers
- Keehner, Robert:
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- Traffic Ticket Defense Center:
TRAFFIC TICKETS ARE SERIOUS BUSINESS
They can result in fines, court costs and points being placed against your driving record. But once you get traffic tickets, what should you do?
If you pay the citations without going to Court, you get convictions on your record and points from the Motor Vehicle Administration. If you get enough points, your license can be suspended or even revoked, seriously impacting your ability to work, attend school, or perform everyday errands.
If you donŐt pay them and donŐt go to Court, your license will automatically be suspended. Get caught driving while suspended or revoked and you could go to jail.
You could go to Court unrepresented, but without an attorney, would you know how to effectively defend yourself? Would you even know whether the State could prove its case?
Traffic Ticket Defense Center can help. Each year since 1993, Traffic Ticket Defense Center has represented hundreds of drivers and has helped them avoid points, fines and sanctions at the Motor Vehicle Administration. In most instances a Traffic Ticket Defense Center attorney can resolve your tickets without you even having to appear in court.
In Maryland, the Department of Motor Vehicles assesses points for moving violations. These points are effective for two years from the date of the violation.
Click here for a full table of points.
Accumulating points within a two-year period subjects a person to additional sanctions by Motor Vehicle Administration. A person receives a warning letter after accumulating 3 points and must attend a point system conference if he or she accumulates 5, 6 or 7 points. In most instances, the Motor Vehicle Administration is authorized to suspend the license of a driver who accumulates 8 points, and revoke the license of each driver who accumulates 12 points.
A first-time suspension may not be for less than 2 days or more than 30 days. Any subsequent suspension must be for at least 15 days and not more than 90 days. Points accumulated due to alcohol convictions carry a first time suspension of not more than 6 months. On a second conviction less than 5 years after the first, or on a third conviction, the Motor Vehicle Administration imposes a suspension of up to 12 months. For a fourth or subsequent conviction, the suspension can be up to 24 months. A restricted license may be issued to a person who participates in an Ignition Interlock Program.
If the suspension or revocation of a license would affect adversely a personŐs employment or opportunity for employment, the Administration may decline to order the suspension or revocation or cancel or modify the suspension or revocation.
A professional driver must attend the point system conference if he or she accumulates 8 points. If a licensee is required to drive a motor vehicle in the course of his or her regular employment, suspension requires 16 points and revocation requires 19 points.
FINES AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES
The Maryland Legislature has established the amount of fines for payable, non-incarcerable motor vehicle violations. Payment of the fine without standing trial guarantees the imposition of points by Department of Motor Vehicles. If a person elects to come to Court instead of paying the pre-set fine, a Judge may impose a fine of up to $500. However, in certain instances, a Judge can grant a disposition that prevents the assessment of points.
Convictions on the following violations carry a fine of up to $500 or imprisonment for up to 2 months or both:
(1) Special identification cards: Fraud and misrepresentation prohibited
(2) Taking or driving vehicle without consent of owner
(3) Damaging or tampering with vehicle
(4) Removed, falsified, or unauthorized identification number or registration card or plate
(5) Altered or forged documents and plates
(6) Dealers: Prohibited acts - Vehicle sales transactions
(7) Dealers: Prohibited acts - Advertising practices
(8) Dealers: Prohibited acts - Violation of licensing laws
(9) Vehicle salesmen: Prohibited acts
(10) Storage of certain vehicles by unlicensed persons prohibited
(11) Violation of alcohol restriction ordered by a court
(12) Unlawful application for or use of license
(13) Licenses suspended under certain provisions of Code
(14) Licenses suspended under certain traffic laws or regulations of another state
(15) Unauthorized use of rented motor vehicle
(16) Driver to remain at scene of accident resulting in damage to attended vehicle or property
(17) Duty to give information and provide aid
(18) Duty on striking unattended vehicle or other property
(19) Making a false report
(20) Interference with traffic control devices or railroad signs and signals
(21) Accident resulting from failure to yield to pedestrian in a marked crosswalk
(22) Accident resulting from passing vehicle stopped at a marked crosswalk for pedestrian
(23) Some arrests for driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs
(24) Driving while unlicensed
(25) Driving within 12 hours after alcohol or drug related arrest
(26) Prohibited acts involving ignition interlock systems
Convictions for renting a motor vehicle with incorrect odometer, having regrooved tires, tampering with or altering an odometer, or for prohibited acts involving the inspections of used vehicles and warnings for defective equipment carry a fine of up to $500 or imprisonment for up to 6 months or both.
Any person who is convicted for transporting hazardous materials is subject to, for a first offense, a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or both; and for any subsequent offense, a fine of up to $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.
A person is subject to a fine of up to $500 or imprisonment for up to 1 year or both, on a conviction for possession of motor vehicle master key.
A person convicted of fraud in making an application for a certificate of title or vehicle registration, overtaking and passing a school bus, reckless driving, or speeding in a school zone is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000.
A person who is convicted of driving while license is canceled, suspended, refused, or revoked, knowingly allowing an uninsured vehicle to be driven or providing false evidence of required insurance is subject to, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both; and for any subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.
A person who is convicted of driving while license unlicensed is subject to, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $500, or imprisonment for not more than 60 days, or both; and for any subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $500, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.
A person convicted of operating as a vehicle salesman without a license required or operating an automotive dismantler, recycler or scrap processor without a license is subject to, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or both; and for any subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.
Some violations carry a mandatory minimum penalty including "imprisonment", defined as confinement in an inpatient rehabilitation or treatment center; or home detention with electronic monitoring while participating in an alcohol treatment program that is certified by the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, a similar agency or otherwise approved by the court. These offenses are mostly repeat alcohol and controlled dangerous substances matters.
In most instances, a person convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substance, for a first offense, is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both; for a second offense, shall be subject to a fine of not more than $2,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both; and for a third or subsequent offense, shall be subject to a fine of not more than $3,000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both.
Any person convicted of transporting hazardous materials, failure to obey signs to stop for a diesel emissions test, failure to obey signs to stop for inspection, operating overweight vehicles or violating motor carrier safety violations is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000 for a first offense; not more than $2,000 for a second offense; and not more than $3,000 for a third or subsequent offense.
Any person convicted of speeding in a highway work zone is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000.
A person convicted of failure to remain at the scene of an accident resulting in bodily injury or death is subject to a fine of not more than $3,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both if the accident resulted in bodily injury to another person and a fine of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment for not more than 5 years or both if the accident resulted in the death of another person.
In most instances, a conviction for fleeing or eluding police carries, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both; and for any subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both. A conviction for fleeing or eluding resulting in bodily injury to another person carries a fine of up to $5,000, or imprisonment for up to 3 years, or both. A conviction for fleeing or eluding that results in a death of another person carries a fine of up to $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than 10 years, or both.
Some alcohol violations occurring while transporting a minor carry, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or both; and for a second or subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both. Other alcohol violations occurring while transporting a minor carry, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for a second offense, a fine of not more than $3,000 or imprisonment for not more than 3 years or both; and for a third or subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than 4 years or both.
Driving a commercial motor vehicle while not authorized to do is a misdemeanor and carries the possibility of imprisonment for 5 years or a fine of $10,000 or both.
Driving a commercial motor vehicle while not in possession of a valid commercial motor vehicle driverŐs license carries, for a first offense, a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or both; for a second offense, a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both; and, for a third or subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $3,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both.
Any person convicted of knowingly or fraudulently obtaining a commercial driverŐs license is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for 5 years or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both.
Any person driving an improper class of commercial motor vehicle, or driving a commercial vehicle without required additional endorsements is subject to for a first offense, a fine of $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both; for a second offense, a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or both; and for a third or subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.
Any person convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle on the sidewalk in Anne Arundel County is subject to for a first offense, a fine of $100; for a second offense, a fine of $250; and for a third or subsequent offense, a fine of $500.
- Tayter, Edward:
When you are charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI) in Maryland your license to drive, your livelihood, and even your freedom are in jeopardy. DUI and DWI convictions are high stakes, and can result in fines, loss of drivers license, increased insurance rates, probation, and incarceration.
Maryland's legal system is complex and often intimidating for people arrested for DUI and DWI, since many have had no prior contact with the police, the Motor Vehicle Administration, or the criminal justice system. The Law Office of Edward Tayter has the experience and expertise to handle all aspects of your DUI and DWI charges.
- Willis Law Firm:
Maryland Drunk Driving Charges and Penalties
A charge of driving under the influence (DUI) usually means that your blood alcohol content was measured at .08 or greater. You can also be charged with driving while impaired (DWI) for a BAC less than .08, if an officer observes erratic driving or you "fail" a field sobriety test or.
The DUI carries greater consequences. A first offense DUI conviction is punished by a fine of $1,000, automatic revocation of your license, and jail time of up to a year. DWI is punished by a $500 fine, suspension of your license, and possible jail time. Possible sanctions for second or third offenses include up to two years in jail, license revocation, and ignition interlock on your car.
If you were involved in a drunk driving accident, or if you have previous DUIs, you may be facing felony charges. Experienced legal representation is critical Ń for any DUI charge.
The sections below provide basic information regarding DUI and DWI. They are not intended as legal advice or to substitute for representation by a qualified Maryland DUI attorney.
- Morrow, Robert:
Drunk driving and DWI are common words in our every day speech, which should tell us something about the extent and familiarity of this growing problem. DUI defenders will tell you that the term drunk driving has many official names including, DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), DUII (Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants), OMVI (Operating Motor Vehicle Intoxicated), and OUI (Operation Under the Influence), and other acronyms OWI, DUIL, DWUI. These web pages primarily use the expression, DUI (Driving Under the Influence). You've found the right legal experts to assist and direct you along the path of magisterial proceedings.
Certainly, hiring a good DUI lawyer is absolutely your best decision and ought to be your first move. DUI is a serious infraction with extremely complex consequences for everyone involved including drivers, victims, and general population. Each year in the United States an estimated half million people are injured in DUI-related highway crashes, costing taxpayers over 114 billion dollars.
The public offender may face the immediate loss of driving privileges, vehicle impoundment, fines, house arrest, local incarceration, and prison time, due to drunk driving accusations. While DUI lawyers have made headway in actual court cases, the number of drunk driving arrests have steadily climbed since the beginning of 1970s, thanks to newly implemented laws and programs.
Your DUI lawyer should be expertly familiar with all the intricacies and nuances involved with DUI offenses. This index of lawyers will take you through them step by step, explaining testing, sentencing, jury trends, offer information, etc. As DUI lawyers, knowing the law is our profession and job.
Preparation, knowledge, and an excellent DUI attorney are among your best defenses.
A DUI charge is frustrating, and it can result in solemn consequences! Take action NOW by calling us today.
Depending on what state in which you are charged, drunk driving offenses can also be known as any of the following:
Because drunk driving laws are complex, you not only need to hire a lawyer, but one who specifically specializes in DUI defense. Qualified drunk driving attorneys know that some of the enforcement and judicial procedures are unconstitutional and violate motorists' rights. They are more well versed with the different sobriety tests and their varying accuracy levels. Don't give up your rights. Contact an experienced Lead Counsel DUI lawyer who understands your particular needs and situation.
- Wood, William:
Despite high fuel prices, we are still a driving culture highly dependent on our right to drive. Charges of drunk driving, therefore, carry very difficult penalties.
A common penalty is the suspension of your driver's license. License suspension can cause serious hardship regarding entertainment, travel and, especially, employment. Other common penalties include fines, probation and, in the event of accidents, injuries and property damage related to DUI/DWI, and jail time.
* Question police procedures and evidence, including breath test/Breathalyzer test results and calibration, and probable cause violations
* In the event of a conviction or plea bargain, negotiate with the state's attorney for reduced sentencing
* Refer you to substance abuse evaluation, treatment and/or a driver improvement program prior to your trial to strengthen your case
* In some circumstances, handle your probation before judgment (PBJ). PBJs are often available to first-time offenders with clean records, and involve pleading guilty to a reduced charge and complying with terms. PBJs generally allow offenders to stay out of jail and keep their records clean.
- Keehner, Robert:
DWI is a criminal charge, even though most of the people arrested are just:
* "Regular folk gone to a party"
* "High schoolers at a party"
* "People out to dinner who had a few drinks"
It may not seem fair, but it's the law. ... comb through your DWI arrest record seeking flaws:
* Was there really a reason for the police to stop you?
* Did the police officer make a mistake in procedure?
* Are the field sobriety tests questionable?
* Was there a problem with the breath test (BAC)?
* Did the officer advise you of your rights?
* Were you on a prescription drug or did you have a medical problem that made it appear like you were drunk but in fact you were not?
- Joseph Tauber:
You did not think this would happen to you, but now you are facing a situation that you did not anticipate. What should you do after you get stopped for Drunk Driving? The Department of Motor Vehicles (MVA) will suspend your license if you do not take a breathalyzer, blood or urine test.
YOU HAVE A LIMITED AMOUNT OF TIME TO APPEAL THIS ADMINISTRAVIE LICENSE SUSPENSION!
A conviction for ?Drunk Driving? generally will remain on your driving and criminal records for LIFE. This could mean a good job opportunity missed or travel to some countries denied.
- Amos & Muffoletto: After an
accused has been arrested for committing a crime, what happens next and
what should he do next? Once an officer has taken the accused into
custody, he is no longer free to walk away, and the arrest is complete.
An arrest is only proper and legal if the officer has probable cause to
believe that the accused committed an offense or was about to commit an
offense. An arrest is also proper when it is being conducted pursuant
to an arrest warrant. However, if the warrant is not valid, numerous
other issues will be raised.
- Anne Singleton: You were a devoted mom. A terrific employee.
A longtime community volunteer. Now you're just a Drunk Driver.
You made a mistake. A big one. You wonder if you'll ever recover from
the shame and humiliation. What about the fines and the huge hike in
insurance? How will you get to work or get the kids to activities if
they take away your driver's license? You might even go to jail. You
need a lawyer now.
- Gary Wiessner:
The Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) permits deportation of an
alien convicted of an "aggravated felony," which can include "a crime
of violence for which the term of imprisonment [is] at least one year."
In line with this provision, aliens convicted of driving under the
influence of alcohol (DUI) in states which characterize a DUI
conviction as a crime of violence have been subjected to automatic
deportation, even if they have been legally residing in the U.S. for