Elkton DUI Lawyers
Return to Maryland DUI Lawyers
- Browne, Wanda:
- Barnes, Harry:
It is very stressful to be faced with criminal charges. Having an
experienced criminal attorney who knows the law and will give you a chance to
tell your side of the story will help relieve that stress. It is important
for you to know your rights under the law and what you can do about the
charges you face. Don't go on the advice of friends. This could get you
into more trouble. It is your right to have an attorney. Exercise it.
- Rollins Law Group:
Why is it important to hire a defense lawyer as soon as possible after a DUI & DWI arrest? An experienced Elkton DUI lawyer can:
Help you keep your driver's license by requesting an administrative hearing within the 10-day time frame
Investigate the circumstances of your arrest, looking for irregularities that can be used to negotiate a dismissal or obtain a plea to a lesser offense
Take your case to trial, to fight for a not-guilty verdict
The most important thing to know about DUI & DWI arrests is that you have only 10 days from the date of the drunk driving arrest to request an administrative hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicles Association to appeal the suspension of your driver's license. If your DUI & DWI defense lawyer requests the driver's hearing within the 10-day deadline, then you will be allowed to keep your driver's license until the date of the hearing.
- Davis, Will:
Cecil County DUI / DWI Lawyers
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired (DWI) charges can happen to anyone, you are not alone. It is imperative that you have a capable and competent defense attorney who is knowledgeable of local DWI/DUI laws to assist in protecting your rights, liberty and privilege to drive.
YOU ONLY HAVE 10 DAYS! If you do not react quickly, your Maryland driving privilege can be suspended from anywhere between 45 to 120 days due to your pending DUI/DWI charge. Our lawyers can assist you in filing for an MVA hearing as well as representing you at that hearing. Did you know that it is relatively easy to get a work license in Maryland? But you cannot get it unless you request an MVA hearing. Let our lawyers help you stay on the road.
Field Sobriety Test
Maryland officers conduct a number of tests to determine if they have probable cause to arrest you for driving under the influence. These tests include walk and turn, one leg stand, horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN), counting and the alphabet. Your performance on these tests can mean the difference between a conviction and an acquittal. Our lawyers are familiar with these tests and how they are to be administered.
The legal blood alcohol level is .08. Blowing the legal limit or higher is considered per se under the influence. Did you know that there are certain procedures the police must abide by when administering the breathalyzer? Do not get convicted of a DUI/DWI if the police did not follow proper procedure.
Probation Before Judgment (PBJ)
Are you familiar with a PBJ? No, it does not mean peanut butter and jelly. PBJ, or probation before judgment, is a tool that is often used for DUI/DWI first offenders in order to protect their driving records. This disposition allows a defendant to be placed on probation instead of receiving a conviction. If you receive a PBJ you do not get points or a suspension attached to your license.
- Rollins & Rollins:
Why is it important to hire a defense lawyer as soon as possible after a DUI arrest? An experienced DUI defense lawyer can:
* Help you keep your driver's license by requesting an administrative hearing within the 10-day time frame
* Investigate the circumstances of your arrest, looking for irregularities that can be used to negotiate a dismissal or obtain a plea to a lesser offense
* Take your case to trial, to fight for a not-guilty verdict
The most important thing to know about DUI arrests is that you have only 10 days from the date of the drunk driving arrest to request an administrative hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicles Association to appeal the suspension of your driver's license. If your DUI defense lawyer requests the driver's hearing within the 10-day deadline, then you will be allowed to keep your driver's license until the date of the hearing.
- Thomas Brown:
DUI / DWI (Drunk Driving)
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired (DWI) are matters that require the attention of a knowledgeable lawyer.
- William Riddle:
Were you pulled over for drunk driving? Are you thinking of pleading
guilty without talking to an attorney? DonŐt do it. The consequences of
a drunk-driving conviction are severe. Depending upon your past
drunk-driving record, your blood alcohol content, and other factors, you
could be facing license revocation, jail time, stiff fines, and other
- John Downs:
Each year, many people are arrested for drunk driving on roads such as
Route 40 and Interstate 95 in Maryland. If you have been arrested for
drunk driving, calling an experienced lawyer as soon as possible can
make critical differences in your case.
* You could be facing license suspension or revocation.
* You could be facing expensive fines and insurance rates.
* You could be facing lost time from work.
* You could be facing jail time or probation.
You need a lawyer experienced at providing effective DUI defense, and who can seek opportunities for reduced or alternative sentencing and even expungement.
- William Davis:
DUI / DWI
Drunk driving is a serious charge. You need a serious defense.
- Michael Onifer:
Criminal charges are serious matters, whether it is a misdemeanor or a
felony, whether or not you see the inside of a jail cell and or how
long depends on hiring the right attorney.
- Scott & Scott:
Performing field sobriety tests (walking the line, one leg stand, etc.)
are purely optional. Always decline to perform these tests if you have
had too much to drink. Poor performance on these tests only builds the
state's case against you. On the other hand, the roadside breath test
(PBT-preliminary breath test) is not admissible in Court and submitting
to this test is okay if you have only had a couple of drinks. If you
pass the PBT the officer may let you go. Maryland has now enacted a .08
limit for driving while intoxicated. The limit for driving impaired is
.07. If you take the breath test at the police station you are almost
always assuring your conviction. You have an absolute right to refuse
the breath test at the police station. While this will result in
suspension of your drivers license (or your privilege to drive in
Maryland if you have an out of state license), Maryland drivers can
receive a restricted work license for their first test refusal. If you
refuse the test, the police officer will issue you a temporary license
along with a hearing request copy. You must send in the hearing request
copy within ten (10) days of your arrest to make sure that your license
is not suspended before the hearing to obtain a restricted license.
Never make a statement to the police about how much you had to drink
without first consulting with an attorney.