What happens after a DUI/DWAI arrest in Colorado?
Motor Vehicle Hearing:
To preserve your right to drive in
Colorado, you must request a hearing within 7 days after your license
has been taken from you by an officer or within the time set by Motor
Vehicle in a revocation letter. A hearing must be initially scheduled within
had a valid license when stopped, you are qualified for a temporary
license to drive until the hearing. You will be mailed a notice of the hearing
about three weeks after your request. You can plan on at least 45 days
If you lose at the hearing, you can not drive after the
hearing. It is our opinion you should requests the officer's presence
at the hearing. Crucial defenses can be developed at the hearing. It is
best to make a hearing request at the main Colorado Motor
Vehicle Office, 1881 Pierce Street in Lakewood.
This is the date on your ticket, if you are charged with a misdemeanor, about 30 to 60 days after
your arrest for a County Court Appearance. If you have an
attorney and are not on bond, you do not have to appear. It is
primarily for advisement of rights. If you have an attorney, he will
advise you. If you have three prior lifetime impaired driving convictions
anywhere in the US, you are facing a possible felony conviction and probably will be in District Court
Your attorney will discuss your case with the
District Attorney and negotiate the best possible plea bargain. It will
happen about 6 weeks after arraignment. This
is usually after the Motor Vehicle Hearing. The date is set by the
Court and your attorney on his calendar.
Adams Arapahoe Boulder Denver Douglas Jefferson
The Court may suppress some or all of the
evidence against you if your constitutional rights have been violated.
Your attorney will file motions to suppress. It occcurs anywhere 6 weeks to 3 months
after the pre-trial conference.
Almost always a trial to a jury of six. Trial must be held
within six months after your plea.
The Court imposes a sentence after a conviction at
trial or after a plea bargain is accepted and a plea entered. Sentences
may include jail time, in home detention, public service, alcohol
classes and fines.
How to avoid the 10 biggest mistakes most people make after being arrested for DUI.
What Happens After A DUI DWAI Arrest?
There are usually both Motor Vehicle and Court Proceedings to which you must attend. Do not let your rights expire by inaction.
53 Things YOU Need to Know about Your DUI Case that NO ONE is Telling YOU
Mistakes the police make . . . and how they can help you.
The Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make in Drunk Driving Cases. . . And How To Avoid Them
Rights in a Colorado DUI
It is very important to understand them.
Calculate Your Blood Alcohol Content
It makes a difference.
Colorado DUI Penalties
What you are facing. Get Out of Jail cards are not free.
What Can I Do to Save My License?
Fight to save your license! If you drive after losing your license, you face substantial penalties.
Maps, addresses, phone numbers. Where to request a DMV hearing to fight to save your license.
There are many possible challenges that can be made to the charges you are facing.