James Forslund Your DUI Defense Pardner Welcome to the Law Office of Jim Forslund

303-332-3602

FREE ONLINE EVALUATION,

Call 303-332-3602 anytime

Still Uncertain?

Colorado DUI Lawyer


FIRST OFFENSE - SENTENCING RANGE - DWAI - DRIVING WHILE ABILITY IMPAIRED

DWAI 1st OFFENSE
BAC 0.199 OR LESS  
and NO PRIORS

PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
2 Days - 6 Months (180 Days)
all jail can be suspended
with alcohol evaluation &
alcohol education / therapy
    
MANDATORY JAIL
none

+ suspended sentence 1 year
probation up to 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$200 - $500
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge

    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
24-48 hours
Mandatory Minimum
24 hours

DWAI 1st OFFENSE
BAC 0.20 OR MORE
and NO PRIORS


PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
10 Days - 1 Year
jail alternatives may be utilized
with alcohol evaluation &
alcohol education / therapy


    
MANDATORY JAIL
10 Days
no requirement consecutive
jailhouse policy may require
serving consecutive sentence
+ suspended sentence 1 year
probation up to 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$200 - $500
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge



    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
24-48 hours
Mandatory Minimum
24 hours




FIRST OFFENSE - SENTENCING RANGE - DUI - DUI per se (0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 ml of blood or 210 liters of breath)

DUI or DUI per se
1st OFFENSE
BAC 0.199 OR LESS  
and NO PRIORS

PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
5 Days - One Year
all jail can be suspended
with alcohol evaluation &
alcohol education / therapy
    
MANDATORY JAIL
none

+ suspended sentence 1 year
probation up to 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$600 - $1,000
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge

    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
48-96 hours
Mandatory Minimum
48 hours

DWAI 1st OFFENSE
BAC 0.20 OR MORE
and NO PRIORS


PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
10 Days - 1 Year
jail alternatives may be utilized
with alcohol evaluation &
alcohol education / therapy


    
MANDATORY JAIL
10 Days
no requirement consecutive
jailhouse policy may require
serving consecutive sentence
+ suspended sentence 1 year
probation up to 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$600 - $1,000
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge



    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
48-96 hours
Mandatory Minimum
48 hours




SECOND OFFENSE - SENTENCING RANGE - DWAI - DUI - DUI per se

one prior conviction - DWAI, DUI, DUI per se, DUR, or DARP driving while ability impaired * driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs driving with excessive alcohol content driving under restraint * driving after revocation prohibited conviction may have been in Colorado or any other jurisdiction

Prior Conviction
More Than 5 Years
DWAI 2nd OFFENSE and
DUI 2nd OFFENSE and
DUI per se 2nd OFFENSE

PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
10 Days - 6 One Year
jail alternatives may be utilized
with alcohol evaluation &
alcohol education / therapy
    
MANDATORY JAIL
10 consecutive days
no credit for good time
no credit for jailhouse trustee
+ suspended sentence 1 year
+ probation minimum 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$600 - $1,500
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge


    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
48-120 hours
Mandatory Minimum
48 hours

Prior Conviction
Within 5 Years
DWAI 2nd OFFENSE and
DUI 2nd OFFENSE and
DUI per se 2nd OFFENSE  

PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
10 Days - 1 Year
jail alternatives not available
except as per below


    
MANDATORY JAIL
10 consecutive days
no credit for good time
no credit for jailhouse trustee
+ suspended sentence 1 year
+ probation minimum 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$600 - $1,500
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge


    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
48-120 hours
Mandatory Minimum
48 hours


CRS 42-4-1307(5)(b). ... a court may allow the person to participate in a program pursuant to section 18-1.3-106(1)(a) (II), (1)(a) (IV), or (1) (a) (V), C.R.S., only if the program is available through the county in which the person is imprisoned and only for the purpose of: (I) Continuing a position of employment that the person held at the time of sentencing for said violation; (II) Continuing attendance at an educational institution at which the person was enrolled at the time of sentencing for said violation; or (III) Participating in a court-ordered level II alcohol and drug driving safety education or treatment program, as described in section 42-4-1301.3(3)(c) (IV).

CRS 42-4-1307(5)(c). Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-1.3-106(12), C.R.S., if, pursuant to paragraph (a) or (b) of this subsection (5), a court allows a person to participate in a program pursuant to section 18-1.3-106, C.R.S., the person shall not receive one day credit against his or her sentence for each day spent in such a program, as provided in said section 18-1.3-106(12), C.R.S.


THIRD OFFENSE - SENTENCING RANGE - DWAI - DUI - DUI per se

two prior convictions - DWAI, DUI, DUI per se, DUR, or DARP driving while ability impaired * driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs driving with excessive alcohol content driving under restraint * driving after revocation prohibited conviction may have been in Colorado or any other jurisdiction

Lifetime Priors
DWAI 3rd OFFENSE and
DUI 3rd OFFENSE and
DUI per se 3rd OFFENSE

        
PRESUMPTIVE JAIL
2 Days - 60 Days - 1 Year
all jail can be suspended
with alcohol evaluation &
alcohol education / therapy
    
MANDATORY JAIL
60 consecutive days
no credit for good time
no credit for jailhouse trustee
+ suspended sentence 1 year
+ probation minimum 2 years
    
PRESUMPTIVE FINES
$600 - $1,500
all fines can be suspended
+ persistent drunk driver surcharge


    
PUBLIC SERVICE
Presumptive
48-120 hours
Mandatory Minimum
48 hours


CRS 42-4-1307(5)(b). ... a court may allow the person to participate in a program pursuant to section 18-1.3-106(1)(a) (II), (1)(a) (IV), or (1) (a) (V), C.R.S., only if the program is available through the county in which the person is imprisoned and only for the purpose of: (I) Continuing a position of employment that the person held at the time of sentencing for said violation; (II) Continuing attendance at an educational institution at which the person was enrolled at the time of sentencing for said violation; or (III) Participating in a court-ordered level II alcohol and drug driving safety education or treatment program, as described in section 42-4-1301.3(3)(c) (IV).

CRS 42-4-1307(5)(c). Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-1.3-106(12), C.R.S., if, pursuant to paragraph (a) or (b) of this subsection (5), a court allows a person to participate in a program pursuant to section 18-1.3-106, C.R.S., the person shall not receive one day credit against his or her sentence for each day spent in such a program, as provided in said section 18-1.3-106(12), C.R.S.


Class 4 felony if the violation occurred after three or more prior convictions, arising out of separate and distinct criminal episodes, for DUI, DUI per se, or DWAI; vehicular homicide, as described in section 18-3-106 (1) (b), C.R.S.; vehicular assault, as described in section 18-3-205 (1) (b), C.R.S.; or any combination thereof. Two to four years plus one year of parole.


FREE ONLINE EVALUATION,




Three life time offenses, two yr. license revocation.
Three offenses within 7 yrs., 5 yr. license revocation.
License after one or two months with interlock.
Interlock required for two years after 2nd offense in 5 years.
nine month license revocation for first express consent action-interlock license after one month.
2 year license revocation for second express consent action or first refusal.

View Video