FREE ONLINE LICENSE EVALUATION-CLICK!
Call or text 303-332-3602 anytime
In order to come under the Colorado Interstate Driver License Compact regulation, you must have been without a license and
without any traffic tickets for a year at the time of the hearing. Some complications may also arise if your state has taken futher actions
against your license after that time or if you have been on an interlock license.
Another unique feature of the New York DUI laws is a seemingly perpetual cycle to reapply for a conditional or restricted license after serving the entire term fo suspension or revocation. A driver can apply to the DMV and pay a non-refundable $100 fee for review by the Driver Improvement Bureau, but the likelihood of approval is nominal at best. The only recourse is to apply again after five years and the outcome likely will be the same.
You can submit unusual, extenuating and compelling circumstances accompanied by extensive documentation only once per relicensing application to try and convince the panel with supporting documentation. However, if it is submitted more than 60 days after the initial denial it will be automatically rejected and that denial is final. Any appeal to the Appeals Board of the denial cannot restate the extenuating circumstances. If your driving history is deemed to show a continued risk to highway safety your appeal will also be automatically denied.
This process can repeat itself theoretically in perpetuity, effectively delaying any real chance of reinstatement.
The Florida legislature has recently made it possible for an individual convicted of four (4) or more DUI’s to get an “employment purpose only” permit and eventually to obtain a “business purposes only” permit.
After October 1, 2011, the individual must wait at least 5 years from date of the last DUI conviction or when the individual was released from jail or prison on the charge (whichever occurred later). During that 5 year period, the individual must not have driven for any reason or consumed any alcoholic beverage.
If the driver tells anyone at the DHSMV or the DUI Special Supervision Services Program that he drank, used any illegal drugs, or drove without a license during those five (5) years then the person is not eligible for a hardship permit for another 5 years.
This is a lifetime program and requires monthly supervison meetings. In Colorado after one year you may qualfy for an unlimited interlock license and only need to use it for two years.
Illinois law allows persons currently revoked for life to apply for a restricted driving permit under certain conditions. The person will be able to apply for relief after a 5-year period of 'hard time' measured from the date of the last order of revocation or release from incarceration (imposed as a result from the most recent offense), whichever is later. The person must demonstrate 3-years of abstinence, complete any treatment requirements and otherwise meet all requirements of the Secretary of State. If granted relief, the person is required to use a BAIID device while driving. The law prohibits full reinstatement for Illinois residents.
3rd or Felony DUII Permanent Suspension
You may petition the court to restore driving privileges after minimum 10 years from the revocation effective date.
If you have an 18-month suspension, an Occupational Limited License (OLL)
will be issued after 12 months of your license suspension are served. There
is also the possibility of your OLL being extended, after hearing conducted
by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.
If you receive another DUI conviction, you will only be eligible for another OLL once five years have passed.
Indiana’s HTV law provides serious penalties for drivers who have repeatedly committed traffic offenses over a 10-year period. The BMV uses the criteria in statute, which are summarized below, to determine whether a driver qualifies as a HTV.
An HTV is any person who, within a 10-year period, accumulates two judgments resulting in injury or death. Below is a reference of some of the criminal offenses that will result in an HTV status being placed on your driving privileges. These include:
Drivers who, within a 10-year period, accumulate two judgments from the above list, will have their driving privileges suspended for 10 years. Drivers who accumulate two judgments within a 10-year period of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated resulting in death or operating a motor vehicle with blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more resulting in death will have their driving privileges suspended for life.
An HTV is any person who, within a 10-year period, accumulates three judgments including:
Drivers who, within a 10-year period, accumulate three judgments from the above list will have their driving privileges suspended for 10 years.
If you are convicted of a second intoxication-related traffic offense, regardless of the length of time between convictions, you will normally receive a 1-year revocation for accumulation of points. If you are convicted a second time for an alcohol- or drug-related offense within a five-year period, you may also receive a 5-year license denial. If you are convicted three or more times of an intoxication-related traffic offense, you will receive a 10-year license denial.