Woman Charged With DUI, Accused of Hitting Patrol Car Authorities say a southwest Florida woman was drunk when she rear-ended a deputy’s patrol car at a red light. | March 18, 2017, at 3:01 a.m. MORE Woman Charged With DUI, Accused of Hitting Patrol Car MORE ENGLEWOOD, Fla. (AP) — Authorities say a southwest Florida woman was drunk when she rear-ended a deputy’s patrol car at a red light. The Bradenton Herald (https://goo.gl/EximA0 ) reports that 61-year-old Barbara Boyle was arrested Thursday night and
For DUI, former prosecutor gets jail time, probation & a chance to reverse her record Jolene Maloney was charged with DUI on April 8, 2016.BY KATY MOELLER Jolene Maloney was serving as the top prosecutor for Boise County when she was charged with driving under the influence of intoxicants last April — a felony under Idaho law because it was her third DUI within a decade. She stepped down soon after.Maloney pleaded guilty in January and was sentenced Friday at the Ada County Courthouse in Boise.If she successfully completes serving 120 days in jail and seven years of supervised probation, she can petition the court to dismiss her conviction entirely under a withheld judgment. The alternative? “A prison sentence can be forthcoming if the defendant wants to take that risk,” 4th District Judge Jason Scott said.
Nobody is immune. One prosecutor with whom I had a number of trials, drove his car into a lake.
Attorneys: Thousands of Colorado DUI convictions could be in doubt amid forgery allegationsGov. Hickenlooper rejects call for an independent investigation of the Intoxilyzer 9000 certificationsBy NOELLE PHILLIPS | firstname.lastname@example.org | The Denver PostPUBLISHED: March 14, 2017 at 7:51 pm | UPDATED: March 15, 2017 at 12:15 pm. Colorado lawyers specializing in drunken-driving cases are questioning the validity of thousands of convictions after a technician who certified the state’s breath-test machines said his signature was forged on more than 100 records in 2013.In addition, a former laboratory director’s signature is still being used on some certificates more than a year after she left the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment in July 2015. Those certificates are being used in DUI trials to prove machines were recording accurate blood-alcohol content.“This is the lab we’re asking to go into court and testify to the veracity of their machines,” said Darren Cantor, president of the Colorado Criminal Defense Bar. “It really makes me question whether the CDPHE is capable of doing that.”YourHub fileAn Aurora police officer conducts a field sobriety test on a man suspected of drunken driving on Nov. 2, 2012.Gov. John Hickenlooper has rejected a call from the defense bar for an independent investigation into the certification process used for every breath test machine in the state. In an e-mail to The Denver Post this week, the governor’s legal counsel said a thorough review already has been done, and no evidence of misconduct was found.
So far the judges are leaving this up to the juries.
Law enforcement agencies will be extra alert for DUIs over St. Patrick’s Day weekendIn 2016, 455 drivers were arrested over the St. Patrick’s Day weekendBy DANIKA WORTHINGTON | email@example.com | The Denver PostMarch 9, 2017 at 2:17 pmLaw enforcement will be out in force this weekend, watching for impaired drivers coming and going from St. Patrick’s Day celebrations.Across Colorado, 88 law enforcement agencies will crack down on DUIs starting Friday and ending Monday, according to the Colorado Department of Transportation.Last year, 106 law enforcement agencies arrested 455 drivers over the holiday weekend, according to CDOT. Although down from 505 arrests in 2015, the department said the number was still too high.“People need to realize that even one drink can impair your ability to drive,” Colorado State Patrol Chief Col. Scott Hernandez said in a statement. “Troopers are on the lookout for impaired drivers every day, all day, all night, across the entire state. The consequences of driving impaired are not worth the risk.”The department warned that beyond safety risks, a DUI can cost a person more than $13,500 in fines, legal fees and increased insurance costs.To stay safe, the department recommended using ride sharing and breathalyzer apps, including CDOT’s own R-U-Buzzed app that can calculate a user’s estimated blood alcohol content and compare it with the legal limit.
Call 303-332-3602 24 hours a day, 7 days a week if you have been charged with a DWAI, DUI, DUID or MIP on St. Patrick’s day weekend or any other time.
A new tool to help police detect drivers under the influence of illegal drugs was unveiled by the San Diego Police Department. The device, the Drager 5000, will use a sample of saliva to detect drugs in a person’s system. It can detect illegal and prescribed drugs as well. The detection devices will be only one step in determining if someone is driving impaired, and will be used in conjunction with evaluation by officers at the scene as well as blood tests when warranted. DUI Defense Attorney Vik Monder said the test is voluntary. Also, he said because there is not set limitations on the amount of marijuana a person can legally consume before becomming intoxicated, drugged driving cases are difficult to prosecute. He said the evidence often relies on an officer making a subjective decision about how impaired a driver is or is not. Los Angeles Police has used the machines for several years, the chief said, and there is a pilot program going on in Denver, Colorado. It is highly unlikely someone who smoked marijuana days prior to the test would register a result, according to an officer demonstrating the machine.
For many Pennsylvanians, St. Patrick’s Day has become a popular “night out” to celebrate with friends and family. Unfortunately, due to the large number of impaired drivers, that “night out” has become very dangerous.In Pennsylvania, impaired driving (being under the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination of both) remains a top safety issue.
The same is true for Colorado. Call 303-332-3602 if it happens to you!
Yes, the reinstatement process is the same and may require an interlock for any type of DUI, not just alcohol.
Yes, you can get a Colorado license despite the seriousness of your DUI charge in another state, including reckless manslaughter.
No, you should not. Your BAC was only .043. The officer is only allowed to start the revocation process at .08.
We require half of our fee up front at $600 and the balance of $600 10 days before the DMV appointment.